I can see clearly now….

sunflower-sun-field-landscape-summer-sky-clouds-nature

I can see clearly now…

Blessings dear Readers,

It has been a minute since I last blogged. Due to a fun but hectic summer schedule and transitioning from summer vacation to the first week of school, I havent had much time to sit very long, let alone blog. But today I had a few hours of quiet time, and that is usually when the inspiration comes. Today I want to talk about being THANKFUL.

Today when Judah, my youngest got in from school, he pulled out all of his new school books and showed me all the classes he will be taking this year. He started last week and cried almost every day, and by Sunday evening was in complete distress at the thought going back. This particular school is considered one of the best academically in the state and fast paced as one would expect, so you can imagine that he and I were bracing ourselves for what that was going to look like compared to homeschool, which was our norm the last two years. I cant blame him for being a bit weepy, I sure would have been if it were me.

I sorted through the various folders, and came to that subject he and the now retired homeschool Mom (me) struggled with for the last two years. Math. As I picked up that big giant heavy MATH book, I took a deep breath and started for the index. As I read through the lessons in the book, my heart settled and a big smile came across my face. That big heavy monstrous book now seemed a tad lighter. I immediately recognized the material. A lot of what we labored over last year was staring me right in the face. Judah and I had already done at least the first half, if not more of the math concepts I was looking over. Before I knew it I was giving God some praise and even let out a big shout. THANK YOU!

In that moment I realized that what might be a little blessing to some, was an answer to a prayer for me. and the added bonus was that I had not even thought to pray for that in particular. It also came to me that there was a time when I couldn’t even appreciate it. But with a grateful heart, I could now see very clearly the blessing right in front of me. Could it be that these kinds of blessings appear when our hearts can really appreciate them? I dont know, but for some reason the first thought that popped into my head, after I let out that big thank you, was that I could see clearly now and the rain was gone. Maybe giving thanks in the small things, allowed me to see clearly that it wasn’t a small blessing at all, but an answer to a prayer I didn’t even think to pray. Now thats a huge blessing in itself. It was just as powerful as some of those blessings we so often like to call big.

For some reason I had the feeling that vision and thanks go together. The clarity of heart and mind in that moment was so much bigger than repeated math material. It was the revelation of seeing that gratefulness somehow allowed me to see a little farther and much more clearly. Gratefulness allowed me to see the little blessings all around me. As a matter of fact I think maybe in some kind of “meta” spiritual way, I attracted the blessing I really needed, or rather Judah and I needed, without even uttering the words out loud.

So the moral to this story is to just be thankful.

Be thankful before it happens and definitely be thankful after it happens and expect to see more than you expected.

Melani Ismail

 

Song of the day:
Artist: Johnny Nash

Link: http://youtu.be/FscIgtDJFXg

 

I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

I think I can make it now, the pain is gone
All of the bad feelings have disappeared
Here is the rainbow I’ve been prayin for
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

Look all around, there’s nothin but blue skies
Look straight ahead, nothin but blue skies

I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

One thought on “I can see clearly now….

Leave a Reply

